Peking University

Peking University

Brief Description

Founded in 1898, Peking University (PKU) is the first national university in Chinese modern history. Peking University now consists of six faculties: Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Health Science Center,Economic and Management, and Information and Engineering. The University has 49 colleges and departments, and offers 128 undergraduate programs, 285 graduate programs, and 262 doctoral programs. While still emphasizing fundamental sciences, the university has paid special attention to the development of applied sciences. In December 2019, there were 16,328 undergraduate students, 17,830 postgraduate students and 11,816 doctoral candidates. There were also approximately 6,857 long-term international students from 116 different countries enrolled in various programs on campus; among whom 2,783 were Degree-Seeking students.

Peking University is also known for outstanding research facilities and highly qualified teachers and researchers with extensive research interests and in-depth knowledge. Today the University has 3,188 full-time faculties, of whom 1,100 are professors and 889 are associate professors, along with 81 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and 19 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering. At present, Peking University has 9 national key laboratories, 124 state key laboratories, 2 national engineering research centers and 10 affiliated hospitals and health centers.

Campuses and Locations

No.5 Yiheyuan Road Haidian District, Beijing 100871, P.R.China

Number of Academic Staff


Library Collections