The University of Tokyo

The University of Tokyo

Brief Description

Established in 1877 as the first national university in Japan, UTokyo has been a world-class platform for research and education that has produced many distinguished graduates over the course of its long history. It is Japan's leading university, consisting of an undergraduate college and 9 undergraduate faculties, 15 graduate schools and many other research institutes providing over 20 degree programs in English in ten graduate schools and two undergraduate programs and fascinating short-term programs. UTokyo welcomes talented and motivated individuals who aspire to make contributions to the world.

Campuses and Locations

Hongo Campus (Tokyo), Komaba Campus (Tokyo), Kashiwa Campus (Chiba)

Number of Academic Staff


Library Collections

About 10 million printed books and journals in 30 libraries.